Skip navigation

These are actual emails that I received at work today with the number of students affected in paranthesis:

Please excuse the following for today and Friday to participate in the Jazz Festival (48)
Please excuse the following boys for today and Friday for soccer tournament (23)
Please excuse the following girls for today and Friday for soccer tournament (19)
Please excuse the following students for third and fourth period Friday for NHS (75)
Please excuse the following students to help with the blood drive Friday (17)
Please excuse the following students to donate blood Friday (various times, but 2.5 hours each) (55)
Please excuse the following girls for softball tournament Friday (27)
Please excuse the following for today and Friday for state science fair (6)
Please excuse the following the track meet on Friday (21)
Please excuse the following Friday for field trip to ________ (16)
Please excuse the following Friday to attend DARE assembly at the middle school (15)
Please excuse the following for baseball game on Friday (29)
Please excuse the following on Friday for Chamber of Commerce Youth meeting (17)
Please excuse the following on Friday for Peer counseling training (25)

393 students excused on Friday. We have 1470 students.

Its a good thing we don’t have state tests in three weeks…

Oh, thats right, we do.

Good luck to us.

10 Comments

  1. Try as I might, I haven’t been able to top this response to the same problem …
    http://threestandarddeviationstotheleft.blogspot.com/2007/03/more-field-trips.html

    “Please excuse the following students from your field trips, meetings, sporting events, and excursions as they have a lesson in mathematics on Thursday, March 08. I’m sorry for the late notice, but I just couldn’t pass on the opportunity.

    All absences will be excused, so their work can be made up, per district guidelines. Please be willing to stay after school or come in early to help them with the work that they missed.

    ~IB”

  2. Chalk

    I am normally on your side..but you cant have it both ways..either you want students to be engaged in extracurricular stuff or you dont…tests are not the end all be all…on this one you need to lighten up…Zman sends

    Zman – I agree, tests SHOULDN”T be the end all… but when they want to base my pay, or even if I get to keep my job, on them, well, they are…

  3. My favorite part? When a kid gets a zero for work that happened while they were on a school-related function…which they did NOT make up….and they flip out. “BUT I WAS (fill in the blank with worthwhile, yet not part of my English IV curriculum, extracurricular activity)!!!”

    Me: “Yes. But you are responsible for the work you missed.”

    Them: “But you gave me a ZERO!!”

    Me: “Because you didn’t turn it in. Sadly, although I am, in fact, a ROCKSTAR, I cannot grade papers that don’t exist. There is a limit to my superpowers.”

    Them: “But I was on a school trip!!!”

    Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

  4. We have the same issue during the KS state fair. I teach in a rural community, so FFA is a big thing. In one day we had all of the FFA, band and choir kids gone, as well as several others. I believe I had 10 kids in class the whole day. For me that’s really not as bad as it sounds. But the school in a whole only had about 20% attendance that day.

  5. I’ll write an excuse for you if you’d like.

  6. Holy. I was adding that up as I went wondering who was going to actually be in CLASS. Wow.

  7. I’m on the same page. Yes, I would love to have students participate in as many extra activies as they can. But I would also love not to be judged by their test scores. I don’t appreciate having to deal with both. Pick priorities and stick with them.

  8. We have the same problem at out place, particularly at this time of the year. I am all for extra-curricular stuff because it can help in many ways but I resent it when kids are absent from my class for silly reasons. And of course most of them make little or no effort to catch up on the work that they have missed.

  9. Just checking in…you’ve been gone for quite a while 😦 Wait, have you been on a field trip? 😉

  10. I noticed that you do not have ads or anything to in order to bring in revenue. With as many people as you having coming in to your site you can very easily put up a couple of ads (that wont scare away your readers) and will bring in some lunch money for all this hard work that you put into writing for this blog. I am interested in helping you do so for this site. If you want to talk about what your opporunities are please feel free to shoot me an email.

    -Vincent


Leave a Reply

