Skip navigation

Our school district doesn’t have a “dress code” for teachers, we are expected to dress professionally and appropriately for the workplace.

During a meeting yesterday a teacher came up to me while I was sitting at a table and said her principal had told her that her blouse was inappropriate for the classroom. She asked me, “What about this is bad?”

I slid my legal pad to her side of the table and asked her to write down her name and which principal had spoken with her. She bent over to write. Ohhhhh. Now I understand.

I told her, “I think I may see the problem. You’re wearing a lacy pink half cup bra with front hooks. You have a mole on the left one that you might want to have a doctor look at. I can actually see your belly button ring from here. I think your principal might be right on this one.”

She said, “I teach first graders, do you really think they’re going to look?”

Riiiiiight.

6 Comments

  1. ‘Oh my God! That’s her defense? What an idiot!’

    My college kid’s reaction to this post. I have nothing to add.

  2. Hahahahaha ha lucky kids hahahaah no just kidding…good to see your back at it……..shouldnt she know better???? zman sends

  3. Best of luck on the new school year……be a leader ..wait your a teacher you already do that…zman sends

  4. glad to see you are back. Have a great school year.

  5. It takes all kinds, doesn’t it? 😉

  6. As a mother of a (very very curious) first grade boy, YES, THEY ARE GOING TO LOOK!!! (and laugh, and point, and stare, and make comments to their parents and buddies and big sisters)


Leave a Reply

