Skip navigation

I’ve probably mentioned it before, but I’m the webmaster for my school’s website. I’ve been told by central administration to update the website. So, I have been.

For the library page I found a really nice banner. It is a picture of a library stack taken from one end with the perspective fading away. There’s a nice golden globe on the right and the word ‘Library’ in the lower left. Nice header. I was pleased as I put the banner on the page Friday.

Within 5 minutes, no exaggeration, I received an email from the librarian.

Please change the library webpage back to the way it was.

So I emailed her back and told her that I was told to update the page. Almost an instant return email.

Well, you can’t use this. Change it to something else.

I emailed her back and told her that I’d be more than happy to come up on my planning period Monday and look at some other options.

You have to change it now. I don’t want people seeing it over the weekend and sending letters to the newspaper.

So I emailed her back and asked her what the problem was.

Its inappropriate. That was the entire email.

I told her that I didn’t understand what the problem was and I’d see her on Monday. I went back and looked at the picture to figure out what was wrong. I couldn’t figure it out. She sent me another email.

The overall picture is great, but some of the books aren’t.

Hmmm. I looked closer. Then I saw it. One the end of the stack was a book with the title on the spine. If you looked reallllllllllllly close you could read it. “Encyclopedia of Islam”. And that offended her. I left the header alone and asked 5 or 6 other people what they thought of it. Nobody said anything. I came home and showed it to everybody in the family. Nobody could find anything wrong. I showed it to the principal and the head assistant principal today. They saw nothing wrong. When I pointed out what the librarian had a problem with they agreed with her and made me crop it out.

Teach tolerance? Not in this part of the country.

9 Comments

  1. Wow that is beyond shocking..i thought teachers taught tolerance and education is about expanding your vision on the world…i would have left it and taught your students about the power of protest thats what a teacher does…just a thought…Zman sends

  2. Oh. My. Goodness.

    I thought tolerance was built in to educators. I now know different.

  3. My stomach literally clenched at this.

    Horrifying.

  4. Seriously?! I find this absolutely ridiculous!

  5. with the librarian leading the charge? amazing.

  6. That is really amazing. I’m surprised, but then not.

  7. OMG!

    She would have asked “Winnie the Pooh” to be cropped out for the same reason.

  8. Just as well it wasn’t ‘Noddy’!

  9. Wow! They’d be really upset to know that I teach a 2 week unit on Islam.

    I’m shocked this has happened in an American school. Wait. No, I’m not. . . .but I’m not going to get on my soap box.


Leave a Reply

