Skip navigation

That strange noise you hear? It’s me banging my head on the table.

In our PLC meeting this morning…

Okay, let me backtrack. If you are an educator you may be aware of the newest fad sweeping the nation, Professional Learning Communities. Basically it is a weekly meeting of a group of teachers to discuss ways to improve instruction. Back in the day we called this LUNCH. Now, however, we take 45 minutes of instruction time every week to hold these oh so important meetings.

Today’s meeting. The district math coach is telling us about how she has found a great website with dozen of links to other great websites. She passes out a printed copy of the site she’s talking about.

Sure enough, there are maybe 35 links listed on the sheet. Links. No URL’s. Just the link. And the URL for the original page? Nowhere on the handout.

I believe in modeling the behavior I expect in class, so I raised my hand. She acknowledged me and I asked her what we’re suppose to do with this.

She said, in a sarcastic tone, “They’re links. You click on them and they take you to another website.”

Really.

So I took my pen and started poking the paper. Loudly. And each time I did it I said, “Click. Click. It ain’t workin. Click.”

13 Comments

  1. Can’t…type….laughing….too….hard….

  2. hahahahahahha

    What was her response!?

    hahahahahha, that’s funny!

  3. Bwah ha ha ha!!!!

  4. click… click… giggle… giggle

  5. what a jerk–no wonder she is doing staff development instead of being in a classroom. The kids would eat her alive.

  6. You crack me up!

  7. Sounds pretty smart to me – but then I can only compare her to mine and you know what they say about relativity.

  8. I want to work with you. Any openings in the math department?

  9. *snort* you are my hero!

  10. I would have paid money to see the expression on her face when you were clicking.

    That’s tff.

  11. Thanks for sharing such an amusing post. I’ve featured it on my blog as one of The Cornerstone accolades for February 2009.

    http://tinyurl.com/bcazmp

  12. Holy crap, I would have done exactly the same thing.

    That is HILARIOUS!!!

  13. OMG!!!! 2 things, Angela is here! and can’t believe that person is actually a teacher! She not only probably didn’t get your comment and she wasted paper/time on something that could have been emailed to everyone.

    I too would have liked to have seen the look on her face (if she even reacted)


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By The Cornerstone Accolades: February 2009 on 17 May 2010 at 5:36 pm

    […] Response to Irrelevant Professional Development:That Strange Noise You Hear? by Chalk dust makes me sneeze. This is hilarious. Imagine if every teacher refused to sit idly by […]

  2. […] That Strange Noise You Hear? by Chalk dust makes me sneeze. This is hilarious. Imagine if every teacher refused to sit idly by when fed a bunch of useless information under the guise of staff development. […]

Leave a Reply

