Skip navigation

I swear, I’d rather have a kid drop an f-bomb in my class than “that is soooooo gay.”  One of the precious little ones made the comment in class yesterday and I went Ms. H on their azz (for those not in the know, that would be the infamous ‘spider monkey’).  I went off on him, and the rest of them for a good two minutes.

When I finished the smart-ass in the back of the room says, “Jesus, Mr. W, we didn’t know you were gay.  Does your wife know?”

That set me off for another 5 minutes or so.

I’m not real sure how I kept my job…  but I’m pretty sure if one of them slips up and says it again they’re gonna run for the door before I twist their greasy heads off their scrawny necks.

8 Comments

  1. Thanks. Really.

    My son is in third grade and has been called gay more times than I know, I’m sure, starting in second grade. How do I teach him acceptance of lifestyles when fellow students are using them as epithets?

    (And, just skimmed back through a few of your posts. SO many of us appreciate the difference you’re making. More than you’ll ever know, I’m sure.)

  2. This is one of my pet peeves, too. My kids will say anything is gay, including inanimate objects. My standard response to being told math (or something like that) is gay is to ask “How can an inanimate object be homosexual?” It usually gets an eyeroll but they will concede the point.

  3. Thanks for the shoutout…and for hammerin’ down on The Ignorant. I, too, absolutely loathe that expression and jump on it with ferocity. It makes me even madder when their defense is “it doesn’t matter, nobody in here is gay.” I ask them how they know for sure…because I’ve worked with a ton of kids who didn’t come out until college — when they felt it was somewhat “safer” than their high school. So, good on ya for making it just a little safer for the kids who need it the most.

  4. You are so funny. I have a sign, made by students, in my classroom that gives alternatives to the word. BUT, I rarely have that problem in my ninth grade math classroom. Perhaps it’s because I too will jump all over the little imp. Or maybe it’s because I’m gay, our son attends the same school, and they know that we’ll be having a very long chat about ‘gay’ after school. I’ll be asking them to explain why they feel using the word gay as a negative expression in appropriate? Hell, I might even start the conversation smack dab in the middle of the class … depends on my mood.

  5. I have two one-liners that seem to chill it:

    1. “Cool it with the hate speech.” (Kid looks confused. This is good.)

    2. Kid: “This homework is so gay!” Me: “Oh really? The homework likes to have sex with homework of the same gender?” (Kid looks confused. Other kids snicker and think I am weird and unpredictable, because I said “sex”. This is good.)

  6. That is one of my pet peeves too. Can’t stand it.

  7. This is a tough one, I say it sometimes among friends , yeah its wrong but a teacher in your place should always shut it down good on ya…Zman sends

  8. a student in my band once said this during marching season this fall. before any of the staff could reply, a female student in his section replied – “if this is gay, then call me a lesbian”. no one has ever uttered those words in our band again.


Leave a Reply

