Skip navigation

 As I’m taking roll in my 7th period class I hear a young lady mention that she has Mr. E for English 6th period.  Mr. E teaches English III (juniors) and English IV (seniors).  This young lady is listed as a sophomore on my roll.  The following conversation then took place:

Me:  You have Mr. E for English?
Her:  Yes.
Me:  English three?
Her:  Yes.
Me:  I thought you were a sophomore?
Her:  I am.
Me:  But you’re in English three?
Her:  Yes.
Me:  (in a whisper)  Oh, were you a sophomore last year too?
Her:  No, I was a freshman.
Me:  Did you take English two as a freshman?
Her:  No.
Me:  (puzzled look)
Her:  I had English one.
Me:  (continued puzzled look)
Her:  I’m in English one this year too.
Me:  (new puzzled look)  Why?
Her:  I failed English one last year.
Me:  And the counselor put you in English three?
Her:  Yes.
Me:  Didn’t you think that might not be right?
Her:  I figured the counselor knew what she was doing.
Me:  (smiling knowingly)  Well…

So I told Mr. E about it after school.  His response?

 

I can’t put it here.  Children might be reading this…

9 Comments

  1. I wish I could say I’m surprised. But I’m not.
    Sadly, incompetence is not limited to certain geographic area:
    http://moldingyoungminds.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/messin-with-my-kids/

  2. Dahahaha!

  3. I am a little puzzled…are we blaming the student or the teacher here…I would think the teacher should have thought it out a little…although young grasshopper should use mental tool that god has installed in bone like material we call head…arent you glad to be back….The blog you wrote about how you went to see Indiana Jones at the beginning of the summer and you didnt have to work the next day still sticks in my mind haahahahahah….Zman sends

  4. AHahahhhaha. Sounds like my school. Kid clearly failed Spanish 1, but was told he could take Spanish 2 because he’s a native speaker and “can probably handle the material.” I don’t even argue with the counselors anymore because their judgment is just so ridiculous that I often end up laughing my butt off or cursing.

    I can’t believe failing English 1 isn’t an obvious sign that the student’s not ready for English 3. Geez.

  5. Maybe there is some math involved Eng. + Eng. 1 + Eng. 3 = ? Nope, that doesn’t work either.

  6. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand so much about this, such as you wrote the e book in
    it or something. I believe that you could do with a few p.
    c. to

    force the message house a bit, however instead of that,

    that is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  7. I cling on to listening to the news bulletin

    talk about receiving free online grant applications so I have been looking around for

    the best site to get one. Could you tell me please, where could i find

    some?

  8. excellent post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of

    this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure,

    you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  9. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some

    time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great

    info I was looking for this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

