Skip navigation

I had a birthday this week.  Birthday’s don’t bother me.  Turning 30, big deal.  40?  Whoopie.  50 is on the horizon and I’ve never given it a thought.

But I turned 48 this week.  And it bothers me.

Years ago my wife and I were in a situation where we thought we might like to leave here.  My parents lived in San Bernadino so we moved to California to start a new life.  My wife was pregnant with our son, who is now 22.  My dad was 48.  We only stayed a few months before we moved back here, but that time still remains one of the touchstones of my past.

You know how you have a picture in your mind of your parents.  No matter how old they are, you always imagine them at that age.  For me, my dad has always been 48.  Honestly I’ve never thought of him as 48, but that’s how I have thought of him, as the guy he was at that age.  Even now, when I think of him, I see him at that age and not the way he looked the last time I saw him.  I don’t know that I’m getting the feeling across in words, but maybe you know what I mean.

I’m that age now.  And dad passed away this year.  It wasn’t that long ago he was 48.  It won’t be that long until I’m the age he was when he died.  Life is short.  I’ve always known that, to an extent.  This year it became a reality to me.

I have a grandbaby on the way.  5 to 7 weeks from now.  The circle of life continues.  And it goes by so fast.  Enjoy the moment.  Tell your loved ones how you feel.  Live each day.

5 Comments

  1. Life does move fast..I dont know you but you have a great life..you are a teacher.. you mold minds and help create the future..enjoy life as it comes to you here is a tip…

    My rules for being happy….
    Play hookie and enjoy the day
    Tell the ones you love how much they mean to you ..often and early
    Get better with age..live better then your parents
    And lastly live laugh and love and always smile.its contagious….Zman sends

  2. Delmer just celebrated this milestone… days before you and I had b-days. He called it forty-f******-eight. haha.

  3. First, Happy Birthday, and congrats on the coming bundle of joy.

    I do understand the whole age-of-your-parents thing. I always picture mine as in their 30’s – 37, 38, somewhere in there – and they are now at the doorstep of 70. Life is, indeed, short, but I haven’t yet figured out how to live each day to the fullest.

  4. You’re right about the Circle of Life. When I look in the mirror now, I see my mom. When I open my mouth, I hear my mom. BTW, come join us for some insane fun tomorrow, with my Silly Sunday Sweepstakes!

  5. Happy Birthday! I do know what you mean, about seeing your parents at a certain age. I try to tell my peeps everyday who much I love them.


Leave a Reply

