Skip navigation

Long time, no write.

But I’m back.  My summer didn’t go quite as planned, but such is life.

Yesterday was the first day of new teacher orientation.  The local teacher’s association buys lunch for all the new teachers each year, and then we make our pitch for them to join the union.  I’m the VP of the association and I’m also the chairman of the membership committee so its up to me to run this luncheon.  By my lists our district has 35 new teachers this year.  As the teachers were arriving at the restaurant I was counting them.  About midway through I had a moment of deja vu.

A few years ago my school was holding our freshman orientation.  At one point a shy blonde Reese Witherspoon look-alike came in my room.  She was apprehensive about being at the high school and proclaimed, nearly in tears, that she really sucked at math.  We talked and I tried to convince her that she would do fine in algebra and that high school would be fun.  She left my room that day unconvinced.  She worked hard in class and to be honest, she had an amazing teacher, and she finished the year with a B- in algebra.  She was in my class her sophomore year for geometry and her junior year for algebra 2.  She overcame her shyness, was captain of the cheerleader squad and homecoming queen her senior year.  She was elected most popular her senior year and was planning on getting a degree in nursing.

Imagine my surprise when one of the new teachers is a bubbly blonde Reese Witherspoon look-alike.  I asked her what she was doing here and she told me she was a new first grade teacher at one of our schools.  I jokingly asked her if she had had trouble with the math in nursing school.  She said that after her freshman year in college she spent some time thinking about what she really wanted to do with her life.  She told me that I had inspired her and that she wanted to touch someone’s life the way I had touched hers so she became a teacher.

We don’t get paid a lot monetarily, but at times this job is priceless.

10 Comments

  1. Wow, that’s truly amazing.

    yes, a good reminder to treat all of my kids that way. you never know what makes an impression

  2. Great story…see that even though your summer was filled with some sadness..the old man always knows when to bring the sun back out…Zman

    zman, exactly… i was bummed about school starting, wasn’t ready, and then a reminder about why i do what i do. the sun definitely shone.

  3. Welcome back! You get back to blogging, back to school, and one of those “It can only happen to a teacher” moments hits you! I’d say that’s a trifecta, ain’t it? 🙂 Anywho, lots has happened since you’ve been gone, and I’ve got something else to brighten up your life. Please drop by when you have the time. I’ve got an Asbury Park contest going, which is kinda fun! Good prizes, too! 🙂

    a nice trifecta, yes. i haven’t been keeping up with my bloggy buds, i’ll be sure to get by

  4. So good to see you back! How cool was that… nice job Cuz. That’s what it should all be about.

    good to be back, cuz. that is exactly what its all about.

  5. That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Nice. Great way to start the year 🙂

    definitely what it’s all about. hopefully it just gets better and better…

  6. Wow. What an incredible way to start the new school year. That’s awesome! Congrats!

    a good start yes. but the pessimist (sp?) in me says, ‘its only downhill from here’ lol…

  7. Awww… Just think of how many students she’ll go on to inspire because you inspired her!! There’s nothing else like teaching 🙂

    yup, she’ll pass it on. she’ll be great with the little ones

  8. M — **big grins**

    that is soooo awesome! happy for you that you found out. it is even better when someone tells you you made an impact in their life. thanks for sharing, beany 🙂

    it’s made me start to think about the people i need to let know who impacted me.

  9. I call those ‘Worth it’ moments. Those far and few between moments when all of a sudden you remember exactly why you’re doing it. I love those moments.

  10. Sweet story! I hope to experience similar things in the coming years. It definitely makes up for the pay and hard work.


Leave a Reply

