Skip navigation

To the superintendant, both vice-sups and my principal.  Lets see how they respond…

I had a student who failed my class this semester.  He had 20 absences, numerous tardies, and made little effort to pass my class.

He then took a proficiency test downtown, passed the test, and is getting credit and is being allowed to graduate.

First, who decides who takes a “proficiency test?”
What is a proficiency test?
Who administers the proficiency test?
Is my final not considered a proficiency test?
If a student can just take a test after failing my class, what purpose does it serve for me to spend 18 weeks attempting to teach the subject?
If this student is allowed to pass, how in good conscience can we ever fail any student?

If you’ve ever wondered why teachers leave the profession, here is one grand example.  No respect for what I do in the classroom, no respect for how hard I try to make sure each of my students who WANT to do well can succeed, and a lazy, disrespectful student laughing behind my back because regardless of the effort he put forth, he still gets to graduate with a passing grade.

Amazing.

Respectfully,

5 Comments

  1. M — very well said. hope they HEAR you loud and clear. best, beany

  2. WERE YOU NOT A KID, Let me guess all kids should be perfect and EVERYTHING WILL TURN OUT THE WAY YOU NEED IT TOO. Part of high school is also growing up and learning lifes’ lessons and AMAZINGLY figuring who you are and want to be. LIGHTEN UP AND MOVE ON. Some kids see this, most dont TEACHER’S SHOULD. You sound like you are in touch with how a young person thinks. SO CMON MR KOTTER finish the year and be done with the kid.
    ZMAN SENDS

    zman, part of high school is learning how live with the consequences of your actions. this is a kid who pointed a loaded gun at a carful of kids and got away with a slap on the wrist. this is a kid who came into my class today just to laugh and tell me that he gets to graduate even though he failed. this is a kid who is going to kill somebody someday and then people are going to wonder why nobody tried to help his sorry ass. and the thing that frosts me isn’t even the kid, its the supposed intelligent school administration who just castrated me in front of every student i’ve tried to instill a work ethic in.

  3. Ok ok so I didnt know all the details…I can feel your frustration..just trying to say this kid you could not reach cut his lines and let him move from the pier..move on to the students that are worth the effort and caring..between the stapler wars and this kid your going to go into a sneezing fit over the chalkdust-Zman sends

  4. Amazing. Amazing that the kid was still even allowed in the school, let alone permitted to be graduated.

  5. This is such a complicated, multi-layered issue, clearly.) That said, as a teacher of such students, I’m afraid you won’t like my answer…. I say that if he can pass a proficiency test, he should graduate. Traditional schooling is not for everyone. (This assumes, however, that the “proficiency test” is a legitimate, valid test. I would be VERY ticked if I felt my administrators fudged records to pass him.)

    His comments to you could have been received with a “You did? Wow! That’s impressive. See what you can accomplish when you set your mind to something?” Why do you think he felt a need to come and rub your nose in it; did he feel like you hated him or something?

    he’s not a “special” student in any way. he’s just lazy and disrepectful, and no one has ever held him accountable for his behavior. if he can pass a proficiency test, give him a GED, not the same diploma you give kids who actually attempt to follow the rules.


Leave a Reply

