Skip navigation

I got to work this morning a little after 7 am. The wall my Promethean Board is mounted on, the wall the kids face, where I teach, is a common wall with the room that holds the hvac system for the building. For some reason, when we get a lot of rain, and we received 4.5 inches yesterday, water seeps in under my wall into my room. I notified the office at 7:10 and I heard her radio the custodial staff that I had water in my room.

Classes begin at 8:15. Plenty of time you would think…

The bell rings, my 32 kids file in and take their seats. The custodial staff has not shown up yet. I start teaching. I’m giving the most exciting and interesting lecture about biconditional statements you’ve ever heard. I have the kids on the edge of their seats, eating out of the palm of my hand.

About 8:40 my door opens and the janitor comes in dragging the water vac. He walks right down my center aisle, I’m still teaching. He stops right in front of the Promethean board, bends over, plugs in the water vac and starts sucking up water.

While I’m still talking…

6 Comments

  1. Sounds exactly like the way it would have been done at my school. What’s the problem!? ;-)

  2. *sigh* I have no words.

  3. Why not stop and hey I am teaching here…but wait isnt this the same place that the vp peeks in the window…so you should not be surprised…congrats on the 252 ….right???..zman sends

  4. Hey, wait a minute, do we work at the same school? This sounds too familiar. Oh, sorry, our custodian is Melvin. Maybe he and Maurice are brothers?

  5. I hear ya! A couple of years back the buildings were new and I was teaching in it- first day of school. Scared Year 7′s, ie first day of secondary school for them. There was no teacher’s desk due to a new philosophy about standing and “actively” teaching, no whiteboard, the whizzbang new electronic thing hadn’t been installed yet, AND the painter kept walking in and out through the back of the room! They’ve changed their philosopy somewhat and we now have a teacher’s desk. Ooh, the joy.

  6. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

