Skip navigation

I had to ask today.

Again today, every kid turned in their homework.

This is my 12th year teaching and this has NEVER happened before.

So I asked.

“I’ve never had classes that did their homework as much as y’all. What is happening that is causing you guys to do so well?”

And every kid that answered said, “I don’t want a pink slip.”

Really. That’s all it took?

The first day of school I had “pink slips” prepared and explained to the kids how it would work. I told them that I collected homework every day. If they didn’t have their homework ready to turn in at the beginning of class they had to fill out a “pink slip.” These are simply a form on hot pink paper. There is a place for their name, the date, the assignment they missed, a checklist for why the assignment wasn’t ready and a place for them to sign. I told them that I wasn’t going to make a big deal out of it, they weren’t going to get in trouble for a “pink slip” I just wanted a record of why they weren’t getting their work done. I’d enter a zero in the gradebook and put the “pink slip” in their file.

In all honesty I didn’t expect this to cause them to do their homework, I just wanted something to give mommy when she comes to see about their poor grade.

It turns out, for whatever reason, the kids just don’t want a “pink slip” in their file.

I don’t know why, but so far so good.

7 Comments

  1. *lol* All the years you’ve taught, all the education you have, and it all comes down to a pink slip. Who knew?

  2. Something so simple, but still so effective. That’s great.

  3. Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth!! Embrace this for as long as it lasts. ;-)

  4. That IS awesome!!

    How do you feel about me borrowing your pink slip idea?

  5. I need to steal this! I had way too many issues with homework and tardies last year, thank you!

  6. Outstanding idea…kind of applying civilian work concept to school work…..so far so good..zman sends

  7. That’s a good idea.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

