Skip navigation

What was the biggest problem my students had last year?

Not turning in homework.

What did I do?

I spent a lot of time this summer researching ways to improve on this aspect of teaching. I read a lot of research. I created forms for the kids to fill out. I had a plan. The little bastards weren’t getting away with it this year.

First assignment: 65 of 66 turned in.
Second assignment: 64 of 64 turned in.
Third assignment: 63 of 64 turned in.

What was the second biggest problem I had last year?

Tardies.

What did I do?

I spent a lot of time this summer researching ways to improve on this aspect of teaching. I read a lot of research. I created forms for the kids to fill out. I had a plan. The little bastards weren’t getting away with it this year.

5 days into the year, guess how many tardies I’ve had.

Zero, zilch, nada, none.

Yes, I know. I’d complain about a new rope too…

7 Comments

  1. Wow!! Good for you! I hope this remains the trend for the rest of the year. ;-)

  2. So, what’s the homework secret?
    i have no idea. they’re doing their work and i haven’t had to put my plan into effect. all that planning for nothing…

  3. Give on the secrets. Parents could prolly benefit as well as fellow teachers.
    i think they found out i put all that work into getting ready for them and their excuses that they crossed me up by being good… secretly they sit at lunch and laugh behind my back, ‘boy we sure showed him…’

  4. I need those forms. My little bastards come next Tuesday, and I can smell their excuses already. I’ll be your best friend forever if you tell me your secret(s).
    maybe you can have all my copies… i haven’t had to use them… they’re all laughing behind my back… all the work for nothing… :)

  5. Another vote for sharing what you found in your research. Please.

  6. Maybe it’s a bit like the umbrella vs. rain thing – if you leave your umbrella at home, it’s sure to storm…if, on the other hand, you remember to bring the darn thing, you look silly carrying it in dry, sunny weather. Here’s to continuing to have them laughing behind your back…

  7. Sounds like you are off to a whiz bang of a start…hope all goes that well for the rest of the year..just think only 9 mos to go..oh wow did i say that…zman sends with a snicker…..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

