Skip navigation

For those of you who don’t know, this coming Tuesday is Teacher Appreciation Day.  My local teacher association buys gifts every year for our members on this day.

Due to today being the end of state testing I thought it would be nice to pass out the gifts early this year as a thanks to everyone for their efforts this past three weeks.

This year’s gift is an insulated coffe mug.  You know, silver with a black lid and handle, with our association logo on the side.  I thought it was a nice gift.  As my dad has been known to say, “Better than a kick in the ass, at least.”

I wound my way through the hallways (and keeping my eye our for wondering students) to pass out the gifts.  Most of my colleagues were pleased with the surprise of an unexpected gift, but many just really frosted my ass…

“What the hell am I gonna do with this?  I don’t drink coffee.” 

“Well, that was a waste of money, I’ll never use this.”

“Why are you interuppting my class to give me a useless coffee mug.”

“Do you know how many coffee mugs I already have, what makes you think I need another one?”

It took everything I had in me to not tell them to kiss my ass.  What happened to good manners?  I was taught to say thank you when someone gave me a gift, and even if it was a piece of crap, to be nice about it.  And these people are teaching!!!!!!  I’m glad my kids are already out of school.  And its a shame that I, as a teacher, feel that way. 

After I calm down I may write an email to each of the ungrateful bastards.  I don’t know if it would do any good though.

6 Comments

  1. Maybe your school needs a class in etiquette! How rude!

  2. I agree with Nola.

    Maybe offer to buy back the mug for a buck so you can give it to people who will appreciate the gesture… like me? hehe

    I’m not a teacher though. But I would like a mug! hahaha.

    How rude!

  3. Why even give them gifts if you know they are going to be rude about, ill bet they are rude in front of the students too….I dont drink java but I would say thank you then give it to my neighbor ahhaahahahahahahhaahahhaahhhahh you need to write a comic zman sends

  4. That was very rude of them… how about saying Thanks , I don’t drink coffee but it will keep my cocoa warm!

    p.s. I’m really enjoying your blog… thanks to z-man for the link!

  5. No ‘wander’ some HS kids today are such butts. They get it from their teachers. Seriously, send the e-mail – tell them to give them back, then once you get them, send another one out saying a big check or bonus was hidden in each one. HAHAHAHA.

  6. i love the way our TARa thinks. great gag at the end :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

